Over 150 Gluten-Free, Wheat-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free, and Kosher-Certified Products!

NEWS ARCHIVE

Food Intolerances

Ener-G Foods, Inc. (winter 2013)

02/04/13

If you or a family member or friend have an intolerance to a substance and you suspect you are getting a reaction to a food you are eating you may want to ask the manufacturer if that substance is in that food. Just because a substance isn’t listed doesn’t mean it isn’t there. For example bacteria fermentation (“culturing”) can produce propionic acid, benzoic acid, glutamic acid and other substances…but such substances do not have to be listed and you may only see phrases such as “cultured” or “fermented.”

Some food intolerances are listed Here

You may want to type into a search engine phrases such as:

Propionic Acid Fermentation
Culturing Propionic Acid
Benzoic Acid Fermentation
Glutamic Acid Fermentaton Etc.

If you must avoid glutamic acid you may want to looks at, Names of ingredients that contain processed free glutamic acid (MSG). Accessed January 31, 2013.

# # #